Thursday, July 15, 2010

NEWS: John Legend & The Roots – ‘Wake Up!’ Tracklist

Just ‘another’ incredible album we can expect this year. The musical stars have definitely aligned on 20Ten. Without doubt.

On September 21st we’ll be getting our teeth into the new collaborative project between John Legend and The Roots. I’m excited. The album will feature covers of ‘Wholy Holy’ by Marvin Gaye and Donny Hathaway’s ‘Little Ghetto Boy’. On speaking of the album and the choice of their reworking Legend said: “These songs sound so relevant now. On most of them, you wouldn’t change a lyric. ‘Wake Up Everybody’ has four verses – the first is a general statement, the second is about education, third is about health care and the fourth is about making a better environment. No editing needed.

1. “Compared to What”
2. “Hard Times”
3. “Little Ghetto Boy”
4. “Wake Up Everybody” feat. Common and Melanie Fiona
5. “Our Generation”
6. “Love the Way It Should Be”
7. “Hang On in There”
8. “I Can’t Write Left Handed”
9. “Wholy Holy”
10. “I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free”
11. “Shine”


No comments:

Post a Comment